Perhaps You Had Better Start From The Beginning..

The Beginning:

We can’t make a computer do anything without being able to program.  Specifically C/C++ and Assembly if we are talking about OS exploit development.  Which we are.  I’m going to be working through The C Programming Language and C++ Primer to get up to speed thoroughly in both languages.

The Tools:

You can use whatever tools you want.  If it works for you then go with it.  Here’s what I’m using.

Operating Systems:

Fedora and Arch Linux, both 32-bit and 64-bit versions.  The latest release of macOS and Windows 10.  Though I do most of my programming in Linux and Windows.  If you want to get really good at Linux admin I recommend Arch.  However I keep Fedora and use it regularly as well because Arch will break on you.  It always does.  A virtual machine with snapshots will make your life 1000 times easier when using Arch.

Editors:

I tend to stick with Atom and Vim.  I don’t get into using IDE’s much.  I use them when working with languages like Java and Scala, but if I can avoid it I don’t mess with them.  Again if you have one that works for you do what you like.

Compilers:

With the above operating systems you wind up with gcc, clang, mvsc, and nasm.  You may not think this list matters but it does.

Misc:

The following are miscellaneous tools that I will be using: gdb, binary ninja, x32dbg/x64dbg, Ida Free, Github, and git.  Whatever else comes up I’m sure I’ll mention in the post I use it in.

Music:

I’m listening to White Zombie as I write this, which probably dates me pretty well.  I listen to music most of the time I’m working.  Incidentally the title of this post is a quote from a sample from the White Zombie song Electric Head pt 1.

 

 

Leave a Reply

